Just Watched: Breakfast at Tiffany’s [SPOILERS]

It is iconic, this image of this elegant-looking lady in a little black dress, pearls around her neck, bun atop her head, sunglasses over her eyes. Everyone knows who she is: she’s Audrey Hepburn, and it’s from her role in the movie Breakfast at Tiffany’s. Unfortunately, this image was all I knew about the movie, and so I decided to watch the movie.

Before you proceed, please take note that what follows below are my own personal opinions, and is not in any way intended to be a movie review. If anything, it’s a personal reaction.

Movie poster for "Breakfast at Tiffany's"
Movie poster for “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”

WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD!!!

The movie was from the 1960’s, and that should probably account for why I didn’t get it.

I didn’t get why a Japanese man had to be portrayed so badly.

Mr. Yunioshi is a terrible depiction of Asians.
Mr. Yunioshi is a terrible depiction of Asians.

Or why you would climb into bed with a man you just met (and have no sexual intentions, really?) and knowing that he’s naked and just had sex with another woman.

He's like a brother to you? Riiiight. I wouldn't do this with my brother.
He’s like a brother to you? Riiiight. I wouldn’t do this with my brother.

Or why you would leave a friend (regardless of whether she’s a friend or a “friend”) knocked out on the floor with people dancing around.

She could get trampled on.
She could get trampled on.

And this is my biggest gripe: why o why would you say, “I love you, you belong to me!”

Is this line supposed to be romantic?
“I love you, you belong to me!” Is this line supposed to be romantic?

If this movie got anything right, it’s when Holly Golightly replied, “People don’t belong to people.”

*Sigh*

Then it got ruined for me by that whole cat in the rain scene.

Sorry, fans of Breakfast at Tiffany’s. It just didn’t win me over. I didn’t feel the romance.

Leave a Reply

