Motherhood changed the way I react to a scene

Recently, my husband and I left our child in the care of her nanny while we watched “The Fault In Our Stars” at the nearby cinema.

I have read this book last year, and I pretty much knew what to expect. The movie even retained most lines from the novel, so it wasn’t really new. But I did not expect to cry when I did. I can’t find a clip, so I’m uploading photos of the text instead.

20140630-120614-43574516.jpg

20140630-120615-43575392.jpg

When I first read the text above, I was pregnant. I was expecting a child, but I did not know her yet. I read this text, and understood it from Hazel’s point of view.

When I watched it, I was a mother of a 10-month old. I had given birth, nursed her, bathed her, changed dirty diapers. I have watched her reach milestone after milestone — rolling over, sitting up, crawling, cruising. I watched the scene, and I understood from Hazel’s mom’s point of view.

Leave a Reply

