Internet, Boredom, and 3 Recent Reads

It’s finally happened, and I am in disbelief. I find the internet boring. It’s actually, truly happened. I couldn’t find anything substantial that held my interest for longer than two minutes. Name it: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and even Flipboard. They all bore me right now.

When something does interest me, it only does for a short while. A few laughs, a minute of entertainment — and then I’m back to being bored. I’ve spent the whole morning on my web browser, scrolling, clicking, seemingly in a permanent state of looking for something to grab my attention and failing to find anything worthwhile.

On the upside, it leads me back to book reading. And I’m on such a reading roll, that I’ve already breezed through half of my recent shopping hoard! Here are my recent reads:

"The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry" by Rachel Joyce

Beginnings could happen more than once, or in different ways.”

-Rachel Joyce’s ‘The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry’

 
"For One More Day" by Mitch Albom

It’s such a shame to waste time. We always think we have so much of it.”

-Mitch Albom’s ‘For One More Day’

 
"Looking for Alaska" by John Green

…If people were rain, I was drizzle and she was a hurricane.”

-John Green’s ‘Looking for Alaska’

3 thoughts on “Internet, Boredom, and 3 Recent Reads

  1. I also find myself in the same situation as you sometimes. Internet for me now is just for short entertainment (9gag and manga), research and blogs that have substantial content like discovering muse. =p

    1. I’m finding it to be true for me a lot more often lately. The internet being a source of short-lived entertainment is well and fine when I just want to be doing something while on the train. However, once at home and I find that I have more time, I find it such a waste trying to find something interesting.

      I’ve never tried 9gag, although I see a lot of it on my Facebook feed. I’ll probably get back to manga once I exhaust my recent book shopping hoard.

      Thank you for considering Discovering Muse to have substantial content. That’s so flattering. 🙂

Leave a Reply

