The Temptation of Convenience

I confess: I’m tempted to purchase a pocket camera.

I’ve had a Canon pocket camera from 2007, up until 2010. I’ve carried it everywhere I went, and uploaded hundreds of photos from it to Multiply and Facebook. I’ve even managed to take some great shots, but mostly with great light. In low-light settings, I can’t seem to get the shot I wanted. As my captions prove, I’ve lusted after a DSLR. “Only if I had a much more powerful camera…” then maybe there wouldn’t be as much noise or blur….

And so when my then-boyfriend-now-husband gave me a Nikon D3100 as a gift in 2010, I was thrilled! It’s what I’ve wanted for years! I took it everywhere I went, read tons of articles on how to use it beyond the ‘auto’ mode, and even managed to get some great shots. I’m still amazed sometimes that I was able to produce such gems.

My Nikon D3100
My Nikon D3100

So why am I even thinking about getting a pocket camera?

Well, lately, I’ve been finding the Nikon to be quite inconvenient to carry around on a daily basis. It’s too big, too heavy… If it’s just a night out with friends, why bother? I find that the only occasion that I’m sure to lug it around is when I’m traveling.

The thing is, having a pocket camera is not a need, it’s a want. So I’m trying to convince myself that I don’t have to get one.

For one thing, the pocket-size cameras I’m looking at are so expensive, costing even more than my Nikon!

But what worries me more is the thought that maybe, maybe I’d find the pocket camera so convenient that I’d never want to take my Nikon out anymore. Gasp! I still have much to learn and improve, and getting a convenient camera may just get in the way of that.

I’m trying my best to keep from getting a pocket camera, and so far I’ve been able to stay strong. I hope I don’t give in.

3 thoughts on “The Temptation of Convenience

  1. I have a similar problem right now… wanting a pocket camera just to keep in my pocket but my camera is small as is so I know I’m being greedy… almost gave in a couple daya ago though when they sold the panasonic lx7 for $290!

      1. I was able to resist buying the LX7 yet because I have an Olympus OM-D as my main camera which is not that much bigger. I would imagine having a smaller camera would lead me to leave my bigger camera at home more often though!

Leave a Reply

