Halfway Point: 20 Weeks

We have passed the halfway point of our pregnancy: we’re past 20 weeks already!

Little One at 20 Weeks
Little One at 20 Weeks. You can’t see her limbs very well here, but she was kicking around during the scan!

Yes, we’re having a little girl! My sisters are happy about it, my brothers were kind of disappointed (they were hoping for their first nephew), but I’m sure it doesn’t make them any less excited to have a new member of the family. My mom is definitely excited. She even went shopping for cute little baby things already!

The pregnancy so far has been mostly uneventful (thankfully) — no morning sickness or nausea or doctor-mandated bed rest. However, during the 20-week detailed scan, we found out that I have a low-lying placenta. The statistics are on the bright side; 90% of the time, the placenta eventually moves up to where it should be. If by the 9th month, it’s still low, the doctor would advice against natural delivery and to go have a C-section instead.

I’m not so sure how I feel about the idea of a C-section. It scares me. But then, the idea of natural birth is also scary to me. I have never seen a video. I avoid reading about it. I know there are some classes to help you prepare for it, but I’ve also heard that it all goes out the window when the baby’s coming out and you feel all that pain. I feel like if I do any research to prepare myself, I’d only end up traumatizing myself.

I once told a friend I’d go for natural birth, unless C-section is medically┬ánecessary. I think my position hasn’t changed. Although natural birth terrifies me, I still feel like it’s a better option. I don’t have any facts to back it up. That’s just how I feel.

Leave a Reply

