Three Recent Reads

20121104-001001.jpg

1. Samantha Sotto’s “Before Ever After

If we accept time for what it is, how it flows and how we flow with it, I doubt very much that would continue wasting loads of it by constantly checking our watches.

If I were to be truly honest, what made me pick this book up was because the author is from my country. I think it’s amazing that someone from a place in the map that a lot of people don’t know about, can be published globally by a legit publishing house. It’s an incredible feat, and so I was very curious to find out what she wrote about.

I suppose at the end of the day it is a story about romance. Not a genre romance novel ala Judith McNaught or Jude Deveraux, but rather a novel that happened to be about love. Samantha Sotto has previously mentioned that she started writing when she was unsatisfied with how “The Time Traveller’s Wife” ended — so that would give you an idea of what concepts she touched on in her own book.

My own personal opinion is that it was quite difficult to read it at first. I found it a little too choppy and a little too dialogue-y for my taste. I kind of forced myself through the first few chapters, but later on I got used to her style and I continued on reading. Mostly, though, I think it was due to curiosity. Will it ever end? If yes, how? In the end my curiosity was satisfied, although I am not quite sure that the reader in me is. I am not sure I would agree with how it played out in the end, but I suppose that is subjective. It wasn’t horrible, it was okay.

2. Kurt Vonnegut’sSlaughterhouse Five

If I am going to spend eternity visiting this moment and that, I’m grateful that so many of those moments are nice.

It was a book that was partly set during World War II, and I though I was going to hate it. To my surprise, it was very readable for me. Maybe because it was more about the quirks of this person called Billy Pilgrim, and it being a little bit sci-fi, that made it an enjoyable read for me.

When I finished though, it felt weird for me. I didn’t feel like I reached a climax or an ending. Perhaps it was in alignment with one of the ideas in the book where the protagonist is taken forward and backward through the timeline of his life (therefore the randomness in the sequence in the storytelling). I’m not so sure how I feel about it.

3. Stephen Chboksy’s “The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Charlie, we accept the love we think we deserve.

This is one of those books that I wouldn’t have picked up if it didn’t turn into a movie. In case you’re wondering, no I haven’t watched it yet (though I think I should). But I’m glad I’m reading this right now (I’m at maybe 20% through it) because I like it a lot.

I was surprised by the format of the book, that it was in the form of letters, but it works for me. I like the simplicity in the voice of the first person, and of his experiences, and of the characters. I like how it all sounds very simple, but in essence I’m reading something kind of profound. That’s a difficult feat to achieve.

***

Right now I’m at 9 books so far this year. Hope I make it to 12 before the new year comes rolling in.

One thought on “Three Recent Reads

Leave a Reply

