From Photo Albums to Photobooks

Recently, I’ve been reminiscing a lot, simply because I’ve been scanning dozens of photo albums from our childhood. It makes me really grateful to our grandparents who have been keeping photo albums from the past decades. The cute baby photos, the awkward preteen years, my college graduation — it’s priceless!

This is just a small subset of the photos I’ve been scanning. There’s too many!

Children today are so lucky, with the rise of digital cameras and the many different online services for storing/sharing these photographs. Parents can take gazillions of photos (since it’s free, as compared to film), toss out the bad ones, and keep the good ones.  Almost every single moment of their lives can be well-documented. On the other hand, I think it’s a shame that there’s too few prints and albums now.

I was just watching this new series called Revolution, wherein there was a blackout and all technology stopped working, and this mother had to stare at her iPhone trying to recall her kids’ photos and she was finding it more and more difficult to remember their faces because all her pictures was on her phone. I know that this blackout is fiction, but I think it’s a truth nowadays that most people have their photos stored on some device, and they hardly have any hard copy.

I also found it a shame to take all these photos and not use them outside of Facebook or Flickr or another website. I was originally thinking of printing the photos and investing in albums like the old days, but I decided that photobooks would be a great alternative (not to mention it’s easier to label dates and places). So I ordered one online, and I just got the shipment the other day, and it looks fantastic!

Inside pages of the photobook I ordered
I created/ordered this photobook for the photos from our trip to Phuket, Thailand.

I think it’s a great project, and I’ll be making one photobook for each memorable event. I’m definitely ordering more!

Leave a Reply

