Recent Read: Haruki Murakami’s 1Q84

Haruki Murakami’s 1Q84

Aomame pressed an ear against his chest. “I’ve been lonely for so long. And I’ve been hurt so deeply. If only I could have met you again a long time ago, then I wouldn’t have had to take all these detours to get here.”

Tengo shook his head. “I don’t think so. This way is just fine. This is exactly the right time. For both of us. […] We needed that much time…. to understand how lonely we really were.”

This is the 3rd novel I read from Haruki Murakami‘s works. The first was The Wind-Up Bird Chronicles (which I didn’t like so much), and the second was Kafka on the Shore (which I enjoyed). This novel 1Q84 is, in my opinion, the best one out of the three.

As with the other Murakami novels, there are more questions than there are answers. Yet this world that Murakami created was so attractive in its mystery, that I was truly drawn in. It’s the first work in a while that nagged at me when I wasn’t reading it. And I fell in love with Aomame, the eccentric female lead character. I wanted to know what happened after the book ended. It was fantastic.

Leave a Reply

