Musings of a has-been web designer

My identity while I was in college can probably be most represented by the extra-curricular organizations I joined. In all these organizations, my role was pretty much the same: I contribute as a layout artist / web designer. I have produced countless outputs, from newsletters to websites to posters to program interfaces to DVD covers. I wouldn’t say that I was exceptionally outstanding, but I think I used to do pretty decent in these kinds of things.

Almost 6 years after graduation, it seems to me that all my potential in this field has gone to waste. Heck, I don’t even own a machine capable of running the tools I used back then (except maybe Notepad and a web browser). Even if I magically had some free time to play with graphics, I don’t have the resources to do so. For the past few years, it seemed dismissible. It didn’t matter since I was busy with a lot of other things anyway.

However, recently, I found myself with an urge to reconnect with that side of me. I found myself wondering about buying a domain name and designing my own personal page. But then I also realized that it might also turn out to be like an antique. So much has developed with CSS and HTML that my knowledge from 6 years ago can now be called obsolete.

Do I really want to do this? Do I want to catch with the latest in web design and development? And to what end? I don’t think I’ll be going pro with this anyway.

4 thoughts on “Musings of a has-been web designer

  1. I think you’ve read my mind! Wow. So are you going to jump back in?? How does one go about getting back into the ring? So much has changed in the past decade… I’m hesitant but Ive made a goal for myself to establish a domain, use it initially as a simple about me/dashboard page, progressing into a professional portfolio from there and then on to further experiments with web dev updates since I last built a site.

    Good luck to you!

    1. Hi Luna! Thanks for dropping by. I’m amazed to to find another person who feels the same way on this topic.

      To be honest, I’m still kind of torn. I have no plans of pursuing a career in this field; but I guess it would feel great to recover this hobby. I suppose I’ll start to seriously consider it if I find a great domain available. I’ve been looking around, and so far I haven’t found one that I really identify with. Once I get past that step, then perhaps I’ll go on to set up my own personal space, maybe throw in a photo blog as well (I’ve been trying to conquer photography too).

      Let me know once you’ve set up your domain, I’d love to see your work!

Leave a Reply

