Thoughts on ABC’s Once Upon A Time

Our friend told us about this TV series called Once Upon A Time, which revolved around fairy tale characters. And since I LOVE fairy tales, I couldn’t resist and began to watch it.

The premise of the story is that the Snow White‘s stepmother, the Evil Queen, cast a curse on all the fairytale characters and trapped them in modern time in Storybrooke, Maine, lost all memory of the past, unable to leave, and ultimately unable to find their Happily Ever After. The only one who can save them is Snow White and Prince Charming‘s daughter, Emma, who was sent to safety in modern time and escaped the curse.

Aside from Jennifer Morrison (who I knew from watching the first few seasons of House), I knew none of the cast members. According to IMBD.com, there’s 22 episodes for the first season, and so far we’re at episode 14.

First impressions: Watching the first episode didn’t actually hook me. I thought that Ginnifer Goodwin didn’t look so great for Snow White, although the resemblance between Ginnifer Goodwin and Jennifer Morrison is uncanny. Looks aside, I thought that there was something off about it that I just can’t quite place, that makes it difficult for me to get wrapped up in this fictional world.

After a few episodes: Now I’m starting to get hooked. I liked to guess which character is which fairy tale character. And it’s amusing to see how the show changed the classic stories to link them all link together. In that respect, there’s an element of unpredictability which I like.

At episode 14: At this point, I think too many characters have had their highlights, but there’s not enough movement in the main storyline. I mean, what happend to Operation Cobra? And now I’m getting sick of Jennifer Morrison’s horrified/scowling face.

I think I will watch further, just because I want to see how it unfolds. But yes, it’s slowly starting to disappoint…

One thought on “Thoughts on ABC’s Once Upon A Time

  1. Pingback: DontHateTheGeek

Leave a Reply

