Music Organization

20120229-224608.jpg

I must admit that since acquiring the iPhone, I have started to leave my iPod classic behind in the house. However, I recently realized that I hate the limitation of not being able to dump my entire music stash into the device.

Throughout the years, I have learned to appreciate different styles of music, from classical music to rock n’ roll to pop and indie. What I want to listen to at the moment depends on my mood. Given that the iPhone has limited memory, which it shares this memory space with videos and application, I could load only a few genres into the phone. So imagine my frustration when at times I can’t find the song I want, because it’s not there!

So yesterday, I brought my trusty old iPod along. And then I remembered what I hated about it.

The music that I have, I’ve accumulated over the years. I got them from all sorts of places, from ripping them off the CDs I bought, from my friends, and online. And having so much space on the iPod classic, I dump it all there. And guess what I found:

  • 5 copies of “I’ll Be” by Edwin McCain
  • 4 copies of “I Am The Walrus” by Oasis
  • 4 copies of “I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing” by Aerosmith
  • and many more I can’t keep track of, it’s driving me crazy!

Some of them are because the songs are released in multiple albums. Some of them are variations on the song — acoustic, live, etc.  Some of them are honest mistake, duplicates.

This whole predicament got me into a discussion with my friend about organizing the music. How do you go about doing it? How do you rename your music files? Do you put music into folders? Do you reclassify the genre of your music?

This whole talk got me to decide to make this a goal. Yes, a goal for the year 2012. Before this year ends, I absolutely must finish organizing my music.

2 thoughts on “Music Organization

  1. I do this:
    – Put songs in folders (by genre)
    – Create playlists for each genre (easy access as compared to just playing the folder directly)
    – Then create a general playlist or just choose the play all songs for your grand mix

    I’m not into editing the ID3 tags of an mp3 file since I rarely look for the title of the song. I let my music player phone surprise me. =)

  2. First off, I cannot live with unedited ID3 tags. It’s just plain disturbing, to see your music in such a mess. Imagine having to see several artists in your list which are actually just one and the same artist:

    – Matchbox20
    – Matchbox 20
    – MatchBox 20
    – MatchBox20
    – Match Box 20
    – Matchbox Twenty
    – Match Box Twenty
    – etc.

    Ugh, I can’t stand it!

    Secondly, working by genres is a very tricky thing. I tried to do organize my music into genres, and I don’t like having too many genres. I would like to simplify things, but it’s too difficult. Do you file Adele under Pop or Soul? Do you file Justin Timerlake under Pop or R&B? Where do you put Coldplay? Where do I put Regina Spektor? How about Glee’s rendition of Defying Gravity? How about Alanis’s MTV unplugged sessions?

    Lastly, I like to be surprised as well. I often start with one song I like, and then let the iPod give me a random one next. But that doesn’t eliminate the need for more organized music. =)

Leave a Reply

