These Wandering Feet

In Philippine beliefs, certain moles have meanings. For example, they say that a mole near the temples indicate intelligence, and that a mole by a person’s eyes means that one can see ghosts. I, myself have a few interesting moles. I have one on the whites of my eyeball, and no I don’t see ghosts (nor do I have any desire to see them). I also have a mole on my earlobe, which often gets mistaken as an extra piercing.

I have several other moles on my body, including a mole at the bottom of my feet. Common lore says that it means that I’m a lakwatsera, or that I like to go out. In my younger days, I decided that it was not true, because I had very little money to spend, that it was better to stay at home. Moreover, I liked to read, usually in the comfort of my own bed. If not, then I’d be sitting in front of our desktop. I wasn’t an outdoorsy person, nor was I a party person. Nope, I didn’t think I was a lakwatsera.

However, I am now starting to have doubts about my own beliefs regarding this. The sayings might have some truth to them, as I am now constantly filled with a desire to discover new places and capture them in photographs. Perhaps I am a lakwatsera not in the context of going out every night to party, but rather I am a lakwatsera in that I want to travel to new destinations. This newfound wanderlust is so strong, that it has defined my bucket list as : I must be able to step these feet on all 7 continents in the world. Yes, including Antarctica.

So far, I have successfully landed my feet on 3 / 7 continents: Asia (of course), North America, and Oceania. My husband and I are planning to go to Antarctica via Argentina (South America) in 2013, Europe in 2014. By 2015, that would be 6 / 7 — leaving only Africa.

To be honest, I never though I’d be able to accomplish so much at this age. I know that our plans for 2013 and 2014 are just plans and have yet to be fulfilled, but the notion that things are starting to flesh out, that I might actually achieve all this, excites me so much I can barely think about anything else.

(This piece is cross-posted as the ‘About’ page on my travel blog)

Leave a Reply

