I want Tikoy.

An interesting bit I learned today: Most Filipino-Chinese folks speak Hokkien at home and Mandarin at school. But oddly enough, the Chinese New Year greeting in the Philippines is “Kung Hei Fat Choi“, which is Cantonese.

~~~

 

Tikoy
Photo by Chesca Nery. http://www.flickr.com/photos/chesca/

A popular food in the Philippines during Chinese New Year is locally known as tikoy. It’ a type of rice cake usually prepared by dipping slices into egg and then frying them. Ah, I miss tikoy for merienda.

~~~

In Singapore and Malaysia (and possibly in other Chinese communities as well),  Lo Hei (which literally translates to “raw fish”) is THE Chinese New Year thing. It is a plate of mixed shredded vegetable, strips of raw fish, and various condiments and sauces. Everyone digs in using their chopsticks and tosses the food, thereby mixing everything in, while saying their auspicious wishes out loud. They say that the higher the toss, the better.

I had my first try of it earlier today during our team’s Chinese New Year lunch. Too bad I didn’t know what was coming and I was unable to take a snapshot. Good thing other people had better sense than me and they uploaded videos of it on Youtube, so that I can share it with you.

Leave a Reply

