Goguma Love

I wasn’t really riding on the whole Korean wave thing. That is – until I watched this drama called You’re Beautiful. It was there that I fell in love with the subtle, sensitive, mature, thoughtful, heart-aching character named Kang Shin Woo.

Actor Jung Yong Hwa as Kang Shin Woo in the Korean drama "You're Beautiful"

This has to be one of my favorite scenes in the drama. Just seeing this screencap draws out these mush of emotions out of me. *melts*

Kang Shin Woo was played by actor/singer Jung Yong Hwa from the Korean band C.N.Blue, where he performs as band leader / lead guitarist / vocalist. You won’t believe how much I liked him and how disgusted I was with myself for liking someone younger than my youngest brother. I felt like such a cougar. But how could you resist such a handsome face?

Jung Yong Hwa
Jung Yong Hwa

My friend knew how much I liked him, and so she recommended that I start watching this series called We Got Married, where he got paired up with popular K-Pop girl group SNSD‘s Seohyun. On the show, they act as a married couple, perform missions, and just generally do stuff together.

Seohyun of SNSD
Seohyun

My first thoughts of Seohyun was that she was cute, but she could be prettier… And that she was kind of weird.

However watching the show for several months now, my perceptions of both Yong Hwa and Seohyun have changed. Yong Hwa was the opposite of Kang Shin Woo — he was childlike and playful and fun. On the other hand, Seohyun has grown on me. I think she’s sweet and thoughtful. Together, they start out really awkward, but now they seem more natural with each other. Watching their episodes gives me warm fuzzy feelings and wide smiles (which my fiancé makes fun of). A lot of times, I start to think that it is all real.

YongSeo couple a.k.a. Goguma (Sweet Potato) couple
YongSeo couple. Screencap from an episode of Korean TV show "We Got Married."

My favorite thing about their pairing is that they are musically inclined and they sing well together. The clip below is from one of their first few episodes, where they sang the song “Falling Slowly” impromptu. Don’t they harmonize well together? Here’s another link if the video doesn’t show.


SeoHyun (SNSD) Yonghwa (CN Blue) Falling Slowly Cutดูคลิปทั้งหมด คลิกที่นี่

The culmination of it all is when Yong Hwa composed a song for Seo Hyun. It was about her, them, their relationship.  The show picked it up and turned it into a mission, instructing them to finish the song together and publish it on the Internet. Here is the final product:

After the Banmal song was released, Yonghwa released his own solo version (which also now had a different title “For First-Time Lovers”). I love the fact that he did this. It’s his song for her, so it’s just right that he finish his song about her, for her. It’s just tooooo sweet.

Now I can’t stop listening to it. Or attempt to sing along. I love everything about it. I love the melody, I love the arrangement, and I love the words. It’s just *love*.

One thought on “Goguma Love

Leave a Reply

